Meet our Team

The Home is run by a dedicated management board and a knowledgeable and creative team of professional staff with the necessary experience and ability to develop, implement, evaluate and sustain innovative programmes that are tailored to the individual needs of the children.

Our Staff

The staff consists of 57 permanent staff members, 3 interns, 30 full-time foreign volunteers and 47 local volunteers, some of whom  working shifts to render a 24-hour service. Staff training and supervision are done regularly. The Children’s Home utilises a multi professional team to focus on the best interest of the child. The Home believes in networking with a variety of forums and organisations.


Manager: Finances and Human Resources
Yvette Rijnsburger

Manager: Logistics and Support services
Santa Serfontein
Manager: Marketing & Development
Johanna Strauss
Manager: Volunteers
Yvonne Mathieson
Manager: Clinical Services & Clinical Social Worker
Alicia van Vuuren

Manager: Child and youth care quality assurance
Jenilee Samson

Office Staff

Coordinator: General Care Boys Units & Social Worker
Rachelle Michelin

Coordinator: Happy Feet, Stepping Stones and Huis Andrag
Magdalena Koch

Coordinator: General Care Girls Units & Social Worker
Helen Williams

Coordinator: Child and Youth Care
Crystal Fielding

Coordinator: Education
Chrizelle Visser

Occupational Therapist
Chané Kotze

Remedial teacher
Saskia Urtel

Our Board

Chairperson: Mrs L. Lennox
Vice-chairperson: Mr F.J. Agenbach, Chairperson: Financial Committee
Chairperson: Buildings and Properties Committee: Mr Brian Bastiaan
Chairperson: Professional Services Committee: Mrs L. Lennox
Chairperson: Staff Committee: Mnr G.W Davids
Chairperson: Marketing and Development: Mrs C Michaels
Chairperson: Spiritual Care Committee: Dr T. van Zyl
Manager: Durbanville Children’s Home: Mr P.R. Bezuidenhout

Our Patrons

Hanlie Retief

Soli Philander

Ramey Short

Neels van Jaarsveld

Martelize Brink

Izak de Vries